Apple · Phones
Apple iPhone Duo
Apple iPhone Duo is Apple's first foldable iPhone, built around a 7.6-inch inner OLED, a 5.4-inch outer OLED, the A20 Pro chip, and a titanium folding body. The $1,999 US starting price makes it a specialist option for buyers who will use the larger canvas and foldable modes rather than a default upgrade from a conventional iPhone.
Buying verdict
Wait for hands-on durability and app-layout evidence before treating iPhone Duo as the best iPhone for most buyers. It makes the clearest case for iOS users who want one device for phone use, larger-screen multitasking, and Apple Pencil input; iPhone 18 Pro Max is the lower-risk alternative when a large display matters more than folding.
Editorial score
9.1 / 10
High source confidence
Reference price
$1,999
Released
Oct 23, 2026
Reference price, not a live offer. Editorial data date Sep 10, 2026. Specs and availability can vary by configuration, region, and retailer. Status: upcoming.
Source coverage: 1 cited reference covers 21 listed specifications. “Source cited” labels identify those fields; unbadged specifications remain editorial reference data pending field-level review. 2 additional product references are listed without field-level coverage.
These links open manufacturer or retailer pages so you can check live availability. Prices on this page are editorial references, not offers. Rankings and scores are not influenced by commercial relationships.
Should you buy it?
A practical ownership call
- Buy it if you want premium foldable buyers in the Apple ecosystem and large-screen mobile multitasking.
- Skip it if the $1,999 launch price is $700 above iphone 18 pro max and matches the specialist nature of the foldable design.
- Wait for final pricing and retail availability before treating it as a safe recommendation.
Pros and cons
Pros
- The 7.6-inch inner display creates a materially larger workspace while the 5.4-inch outer display preserves closed-phone use
- Both displays support ProMotion up to 120Hz, and the inner display supports Apple Pencil (USB-C)
- A20 Pro, USB 3, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, and up to 2TB of storage make the platform competitive with Apple's Pro models
Cons
- The $1,999 launch price is $700 above iPhone 18 Pro Max and matches the specialist nature of the foldable design
- At 254g and 11.3mm thick when closed, it is heavier and thicker than the conventional Pro models
- Its first-generation hinge, dual-display app behavior, and long-term repair cost need independent hands-on evidence after the October release
Key specs
- Display
- 7.6-inch inner and 5.4-inch outer Super Retina XDR OLED displays Source cited
- Panel Type
- Folding wide-angle OLED inner display and OLED outer display, both with Always-On and HDR support Source cited
- Refresh Rate
- ProMotion adaptive refresh rates up to 120Hz on both displays Source cited
- Resolution
- Inner: 1878 x 2670 at 430 ppi; outer: 1398 x 2034 at 460 ppi Source cited
- Chipset
- A20 Pro with 6-core CPU, 7-core GPU, and dual 16-core Neural Engine Source cited
- Memory
- Apple does not publish RAM capacity Needs confirmation
- Storage
- 256GB / 512GB / 1TB / 2TB Source cited
- Expandable Storage
- Apple does not specify expandable storage support Needs confirmation
Buying scores
These are editorial estimates, not laboratory measurements. High source confidence; 88% of listed specification fields currently have field-level citations.
Camera
9.3
Battery
9.1
Display
9.8
Performance
9.9
Software Support
9.7
Value
6.6
Compare
Compare with similar products
Choose any phones alternative. Curated pairs open an editorial decision; every other pair opens a specs-only comparison.
Alternatives
Apple
Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max
Choose iPhone 18 Pro Max when a 6.9-inch display and the strongest new-iPhone battery rating justify the extra size, weight, and $100 over iPhone 18 Pro. Buyers who do not need those two advantages should start with the smaller Pro because the cited camera, chipset, storage range, and charging specifications are otherwise aligned.
Samsung
Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra
Start with Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra if camera zoom and large-screen productivity match your buying priorities. Compare the official configuration and current US price before treating any launch reference as a checkout price.
Featured in rankings
Availability, sources, and full notes
US availability
Apple has announced US preorders for October 16 and retail availability for October 23, 2026; foldable inventory, carrier activation, and storage tiers should be checked at order time.
Common retailers
Apple, Best Buy
Sources and verification
- Product image source · Apple · accessed Sep 10, 2026 · US Product reference only — individual specifications are not yet field-verified.
- Apple iPhone Duo announcement and availability · Apple · accessed Sep 10, 2026 · US Product reference only — individual specifications are not yet field-verified.
- Apple iPhone Duo technical specifications · Apple · accessed Sep 10, 2026 · US Field-level coverage: Display, Panel Type, Refresh Rate, Resolution, Chipset, Storage, Main Camera, Ultra Wide, Telephoto / Zoom, Front Camera, Video Capture, Battery, Wired Charging, Wireless Charging, Weight, Dimensions, Build, Water Resistance, Operating System, Connectivity, Biometrics
Editorial specification note
Apple's US iPhone Duo technical-specifications page was checked field by field on 2026-09-10 and covers 21 of the 24 published specification fields; RAM, expandable-storage wording, and a fixed support duration remain unverified.
Editorial price note
The $1,999 figure is Apple's published US starting price for iPhone Duo, not a live carrier promotion or trade-in-adjusted checkout quote.
Specifications
24 tracked specs across 10 groups · 21 specifications have a field-level source citation.
Display
- Display
- 7.6-inch inner and 5.4-inch outer Super Retina XDR OLED displays Source cited
- Panel Type
- Folding wide-angle OLED inner display and OLED outer display, both with Always-On and HDR support Source cited
- Refresh Rate
- ProMotion adaptive refresh rates up to 120Hz on both displays Source cited
- Resolution
- Inner: 1878 x 2670 at 430 ppi; outer: 1398 x 2034 at 460 ppi Source cited
| Display | 7.6-inch inner and 5.4-inch outer Super Retina XDR OLED displays Source cited |
|---|---|
| Panel Type | Folding wide-angle OLED inner display and OLED outer display, both with Always-On and HDR support Source cited |
| Refresh Rate | ProMotion adaptive refresh rates up to 120Hz on both displays Source cited |
| Resolution | Inner: 1878 x 2670 at 430 ppi; outer: 1398 x 2034 at 460 ppi Source cited |
Performance
- Chipset
- A20 Pro with 6-core CPU, 7-core GPU, and dual 16-core Neural Engine Source cited
- Memory
- Apple does not publish RAM capacity Needs confirmation
| Chipset | A20 Pro with 6-core CPU, 7-core GPU, and dual 16-core Neural Engine Source cited |
|---|---|
| Memory | Apple does not publish RAM capacity Needs confirmation |
Storage
- Storage
- 256GB / 512GB / 1TB / 2TB Source cited
- Expandable Storage
- Apple does not specify expandable storage support Needs confirmation
| Storage | 256GB / 512GB / 1TB / 2TB Source cited |
|---|---|
| Expandable Storage | Apple does not specify expandable storage support Needs confirmation |
Camera
- Main Camera
- 48MP Fusion Main, 26mm, f/1.6 with sensor-shift optical image stabilization Source cited
- Ultra Wide
- 48MP Fusion Ultra Wide, 13mm, f/2.2, 120-degree field of view Source cited
- Telephoto / Zoom
- 12MP optical-quality 2x option from the main camera; up to 10x digital zoom Source cited
- Front Camera
- 12MP outer Center Stage camera plus an inner under-display FaceTime camera Source cited
- Video Capture
- 4K Dolby Vision up to 120 fps on the main camera; Cinematic mode up to 4K Dolby Vision at 60 fps Source cited
| Main Camera | 48MP Fusion Main, 26mm, f/1.6 with sensor-shift optical image stabilization Source cited |
|---|---|
| Ultra Wide | 48MP Fusion Ultra Wide, 13mm, f/2.2, 120-degree field of view Source cited |
| Telephoto / Zoom | 12MP optical-quality 2x option from the main camera; up to 10x digital zoom Source cited |
| Front Camera | 12MP outer Center Stage camera plus an inner under-display FaceTime camera Source cited |
| Video Capture | 4K Dolby Vision up to 120 fps on the main camera; Cinematic mode up to 4K Dolby Vision at 60 fps Source cited |
Battery
- Battery
- Up to 24 hours typical use; up to 44 hours outer-display or 31 hours inner-display video playback Source cited
- Wired Charging
- USB-C; up to 50% in around 20 minutes with a 60W-capable or higher adapter Source cited
- Wireless Charging
- MagSafe up to 25W and Qi2 up to 25W Source cited
| Battery | Up to 24 hours typical use; up to 44 hours outer-display or 31 hours inner-display video playback Source cited |
|---|---|
| Wired Charging | USB-C; up to 50% in around 20 minutes with a 60W-capable or higher adapter Source cited |
| Wireless Charging | MagSafe up to 25W and Qi2 up to 25W Source cited |
Design
- Weight
- 254g Source cited
- Dimensions
- Open: 164.6 x 117.8 x 5.2 mm; closed: 84.1 x 117.8 x 11.3 mm Source cited
- Build
- Titanium foldable design with Ceramic Shield 2 front and Ceramic Shield back Source cited
| Weight | 254g Source cited |
|---|---|
| Dimensions | Open: 164.6 x 117.8 x 5.2 mm; closed: 84.1 x 117.8 x 11.3 mm Source cited |
| Build | Titanium foldable design with Ceramic Shield 2 front and Ceramic Shield back Source cited |
Durability
- Water Resistance
- IP68 (maximum depth of 6m for up to 30 minutes) Source cited
| Water Resistance | IP68 (maximum depth of 6m for up to 30 minutes) Source cited |
|---|
Software
- Operating System
- iOS 27 Source cited
- Update Policy
- Apple does not publish a fixed support duration Needs confirmation
| Operating System | iOS 27 Source cited |
|---|---|
| Update Policy | Apple does not publish a fixed support duration Needs confirmation |
Connectivity
- Connectivity
- 5G sub-6 and mmWave, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, NFC, Thread, second-generation UWB, Apple C2 modem Source cited
| Connectivity | 5G sub-6 and mmWave, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, NFC, Thread, second-generation UWB, Apple C2 modem Source cited |
|---|
Security
- Biometrics
- Touch ID fingerprint sensor in the side button Source cited
| Biometrics | Touch ID fingerprint sensor in the side button Source cited |
|---|