Apple · Phones
Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max
Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max takes the iPhone 18 Pro camera and A20 Pro platform into a 6.9-inch body with Apple's longest battery ratings in the new Pro pair. Its $1,299 US starting price is a $100 step above iPhone 18 Pro, so size and battery life are the reasons to pay more rather than camera capability.
Buying verdict
Choose iPhone 18 Pro Max when a 6.9-inch display and the strongest new-iPhone battery rating justify the extra size, weight, and $100 over iPhone 18 Pro. Buyers who do not need those two advantages should start with the smaller Pro because the cited camera, chipset, storage range, and charging specifications are otherwise aligned.
Editorial score
9.5 / 10
High source confidence
Reference price
$1,299
Released
Sep 18, 2026
Reference price, not a live offer. Editorial data date Sep 10, 2026. Specs and availability can vary by configuration, region, and retailer. Status: upcoming.
Source coverage: 1 cited reference covers 21 listed specifications. “Source cited” labels identify those fields; unbadged specifications remain editorial reference data pending field-level review. 2 additional product references are listed without field-level coverage.
These links open manufacturer or retailer pages so you can check live availability. Prices on this page are editorial references, not offers. Rankings and scores are not influenced by commercial relationships.
Should you buy it?
A practical ownership call
- Buy it if you want large-screen flagship buyers and maximum iPhone battery life.
- Skip it if at 249g, it is 38g heavier than iphone 18 pro.
- Wait for final pricing and retail availability before treating it as a safe recommendation.
Pros and cons
Pros
- The 6.9-inch 120Hz OLED is the largest conventional display in Apple's announced 2026 iPhone lineup
- Apple's 45-hour video-playback rating leads the two iPhone 18 Pro sizes
- The full 48MP Pro Fusion camera system does not require stepping down from the larger body
Cons
- At 249g, it is 38g heavier than iPhone 18 Pro
- The $1,299 starting price buys display size and battery headroom rather than a different rear-camera system
- The official Pro Max specification sheet leaves RAM capacity and a fixed iOS support commitment unstated
Key specs
- Display
- 6.9-inch Super Retina XDR all-screen OLED display Source cited
- Panel Type
- OLED with Always-On display, HDR, True Tone, and anti-reflective coating Source cited
- Refresh Rate
- ProMotion adaptive refresh rates up to 120Hz Source cited
- Resolution
- 2868 x 1320 at 460 ppi Source cited
- Chipset
- A20 Pro with 6-core CPU, 7-core GPU, and dual 16-core Neural Engine Source cited
- Memory
- Apple does not publish RAM capacity Needs confirmation
- Storage
- 256GB / 512GB / 1TB / 2TB Source cited
- Expandable Storage
- Apple does not specify expandable storage support Needs confirmation
Buying scores
These are editorial estimates, not laboratory measurements. High source confidence; 88% of listed specification fields currently have field-level citations.
Camera
9.8
Battery
9.8
Display
9.8
Performance
9.9
Software Support
9.7
Value
7.6
Compare
Compare with similar products
Choose any phones alternative. Curated pairs open an editorial decision; every other pair opens a specs-only comparison.
Alternatives
Apple
Apple iPhone 18 Pro
Shortlist iPhone 18 Pro for maximum Apple camera and performance features in the more compact Pro size. Wait for the September 18 release and compare the final storage price against iPhone 17 Pro unless variable aperture, the longer telephoto reach, or the faster charging estimate would change your daily use.
Apple
Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max
Start with Apple iPhone 17 Pro Max if pro photo and video and large-screen flagship match your buying priorities. Compare the official configuration and current US price before treating any launch reference as a checkout price.
Featured in rankings
Availability, sources, and full notes
US availability
Apple has announced US preorders for September 12 and retail availability for September 18, 2026; carrier, color, and storage inventory should be checked at order time.
Common retailers
Apple, Best Buy
Sources and verification
- Product image source · Apple · accessed Sep 10, 2026 · US Product reference only — individual specifications are not yet field-verified.
- Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max announcement and availability · Apple · accessed Sep 10, 2026 · US Product reference only — individual specifications are not yet field-verified.
- Apple iPhone 18 Pro Max technical specifications · Apple · accessed Sep 10, 2026 · US Field-level coverage: Display, Panel Type, Refresh Rate, Resolution, Chipset, Storage, Main Camera, Ultra Wide, Telephoto / Zoom, Front Camera, Video Capture, Battery, Wired Charging, Wireless Charging, Weight, Dimensions, Build, Water Resistance, Operating System, Connectivity, Biometrics
Editorial specification note
Apple's US technical-specifications page was checked field by field on 2026-09-10 and covers 21 of the 24 published specification fields; RAM, expandable-storage wording, and a fixed support duration remain unverified.
Editorial price note
The $1,299 figure is Apple's published US starting price for iPhone 18 Pro Max, not a live carrier promotion or trade-in-adjusted checkout quote.
Specifications
24 tracked specs across 10 groups · 21 specifications have a field-level source citation.
Display
- Display
- 6.9-inch Super Retina XDR all-screen OLED display Source cited
- Panel Type
- OLED with Always-On display, HDR, True Tone, and anti-reflective coating Source cited
- Refresh Rate
- ProMotion adaptive refresh rates up to 120Hz Source cited
- Resolution
- 2868 x 1320 at 460 ppi Source cited
| Display | 6.9-inch Super Retina XDR all-screen OLED display Source cited |
|---|---|
| Panel Type | OLED with Always-On display, HDR, True Tone, and anti-reflective coating Source cited |
| Refresh Rate | ProMotion adaptive refresh rates up to 120Hz Source cited |
| Resolution | 2868 x 1320 at 460 ppi Source cited |
Performance
- Chipset
- A20 Pro with 6-core CPU, 7-core GPU, and dual 16-core Neural Engine Source cited
- Memory
- Apple does not publish RAM capacity Needs confirmation
| Chipset | A20 Pro with 6-core CPU, 7-core GPU, and dual 16-core Neural Engine Source cited |
|---|---|
| Memory | Apple does not publish RAM capacity Needs confirmation |
Storage
- Storage
- 256GB / 512GB / 1TB / 2TB Source cited
- Expandable Storage
- Apple does not specify expandable storage support Needs confirmation
| Storage | 256GB / 512GB / 1TB / 2TB Source cited |
|---|---|
| Expandable Storage | Apple does not specify expandable storage support Needs confirmation |
Camera
- Main Camera
- 48MP Fusion Main, 24mm, variable f/1.48 / f/1.8 / f/2.8 / f/4.0 aperture Source cited
- Ultra Wide
- 48MP Fusion Ultra Wide, 13mm, f/2.2, 120-degree field of view Source cited
- Telephoto / Zoom
- 48MP Fusion Telephoto at 4x plus 12MP optical-quality 8x option; up to 40x digital zoom Source cited
- Front Camera
- 18MP Center Stage camera with f/1.9 aperture and autofocus Source cited
- Video Capture
- 4K Dolby Vision up to 120 fps; ProRes and ProRes RAW up to 4K 120 fps with external recording Source cited
| Main Camera | 48MP Fusion Main, 24mm, variable f/1.48 / f/1.8 / f/2.8 / f/4.0 aperture Source cited |
|---|---|
| Ultra Wide | 48MP Fusion Ultra Wide, 13mm, f/2.2, 120-degree field of view Source cited |
| Telephoto / Zoom | 48MP Fusion Telephoto at 4x plus 12MP optical-quality 8x option; up to 40x digital zoom Source cited |
| Front Camera | 18MP Center Stage camera with f/1.9 aperture and autofocus Source cited |
| Video Capture | 4K Dolby Vision up to 120 fps; ProRes and ProRes RAW up to 4K 120 fps with external recording Source cited |
Battery
- Battery
- Up to 30 hours typical use, 45 hours video playback, or 40 hours streamed video playback Source cited
- Wired Charging
- USB-C; up to 50% in around 15 minutes with a 60W-capable or higher AVS adapter Source cited
- Wireless Charging
- MagSafe up to 25W and Qi2 up to 25W Source cited
| Battery | Up to 30 hours typical use, 45 hours video playback, or 40 hours streamed video playback Source cited |
|---|---|
| Wired Charging | USB-C; up to 50% in around 15 minutes with a 60W-capable or higher AVS adapter Source cited |
| Wireless Charging | MagSafe up to 25W and Qi2 up to 25W Source cited |
Design
- Weight
- 249g Source cited
- Dimensions
- 163.4 x 78.0 x 8.75 mm Source cited
- Build
- Aluminum unibody design with Ceramic Shield 2 front and Ceramic Shield back Source cited
| Weight | 249g Source cited |
|---|---|
| Dimensions | 163.4 x 78.0 x 8.75 mm Source cited |
| Build | Aluminum unibody design with Ceramic Shield 2 front and Ceramic Shield back Source cited |
Durability
- Water Resistance
- IP68 (maximum depth of 6m for up to 30 minutes) Source cited
| Water Resistance | IP68 (maximum depth of 6m for up to 30 minutes) Source cited |
|---|
Software
- Operating System
- iOS 27 Source cited
- Update Policy
- Apple does not publish a fixed support duration Needs confirmation
| Operating System | iOS 27 Source cited |
|---|---|
| Update Policy | Apple does not publish a fixed support duration Needs confirmation |
Connectivity
- Connectivity
- 5G sub-6 and mmWave, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, NFC, Thread, second-generation UWB, Apple C2 modem Source cited
| Connectivity | 5G sub-6 and mmWave, Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, NFC, Thread, second-generation UWB, Apple C2 modem Source cited |
|---|
Security
- Biometrics
- Face ID Source cited
| Biometrics | Face ID Source cited |
|---|