Skip to content
Sony Sony WH-1000XM4C

Sony · Headphones

Sony WH-1000XM4C

Sony WH-1000XM4C, labeled M4 2nd Gen by Sony, revives the foldable 1000X design as a $299.99 noise-canceling over-ear option. It targets buyers who want a travel-friendly Sony headset below WH-1000XM6 pricing, with multipoint and a 27-hour battery claim but several detailed audio specifications still unpublished on the US page.

Buying verdict

Consider WH-1000XM4C if the proven foldable form and lower price matter more than owning Sony's latest flagship. Because it is still a preorder and Sony's US page leaves driver, codec, and charging details unclear, wait for shipment and independent testing unless the Lavender color or compact fold is decisive.

Best for frequent travelers who want folding headphonesBest for Sony ANC buyers below flagship pricingBest for listeners who switch between two devices

Editorial score

8.4 / 10

Medium source confidence

Reference price

$300

Released

Sep 30, 2026

Reference price, not a live offer. Editorial data date Sep 14, 2026. Specs and availability can vary by configuration, region, and retailer. Status: upcoming.

Source coverage: 1 cited reference covers 7 listed specifications. “Source cited” labels identify those fields; unbadged specifications remain editorial reference data pending field-level review. 2 additional product references are listed without field-level coverage.

These links open manufacturer or retailer pages so you can check live availability. Prices on this page are editorial references, not offers. Rankings and scores are not influenced by commercial relationships.

Should you buy it?

A practical ownership call

  • Buy it if you want frequent travelers who want folding headphones and Sony ANC buyers below flagship pricing.
  • Skip it if sony's 27-hour rating is shorter than the original wh-1000xm4's headline battery claim.
  • Wait for final pricing and retail availability before treating it as a safe recommendation.

Pros and cons

Pros

  • Foldable design and included carrying case suit travel
  • Multipoint connectivity is included
  • Costs substantially less than Sony's WH-1000XM6 flagship

Cons

  • Sony's 27-hour rating is shorter than the original WH-1000XM4's headline battery claim
  • The cited US page does not specify driver size, codec support, or charging speed
  • It is a refreshed classic design rather than Sony's newest flagship platform

Key specs

Type
Wireless noise-canceling over-ear headphones Source cited
Form Factor
Foldable closed-back over-ear design with carrying case Source cited
Driver Size
Not specified on the cited Sony US product page Needs confirmation
Noise Cancellation
Sony 1000X active noise cancellation Source cited
Transparency / Ambient
Not specified on the cited Sony US product page Needs confirmation
Sound Profile
Detailed tuning and frequency response are not specified on the cited Sony US product page Needs confirmation
Battery Life
Up to 27 hours Source cited
Battery With Case
Not applicable; the included carrying case is not described as a charging case Needs confirmation

Buying scores

These are editorial estimates, not laboratory measurements. Medium source confidence; 39% of listed specification fields currently have field-level citations.

Noise Cancellation

8.7

Sound Quality

8.4

Comfort

8.7

Battery

7.9

Call Quality

8

Value

8.1

Compare

Compare with similar products

Choose any headphones alternative. Curated pairs open an editorial decision; every other pair opens a specs-only comparison.

Alternatives

Featured in rankings

Availability, sources, and full notes

US availability

Sony opened US preorders in September 2026, with launch coverage indicating shipments around September 30; verify the live delivery estimate before ordering.

Common retailers

Sony, Amazon, Best Buy

Sources and verification

  • Sony US WH-1000XM4C product page · Sony · accessed Sep 14, 2026 · US Field-level coverage: Type, Form Factor, Noise Cancellation, Battery Life, Multipoint, Weight, App Support
  • Sony WH-1000XM4C launch coverage · 9to5Google · accessed Sep 14, 2026 · US Product reference only — individual specifications are not yet field-verified.
  • Product image source · Sony · accessed Sep 14, 2026 Product reference only — individual specifications are not yet field-verified.

Editorial specification note

Sony's exact-model US preorder page was checked on 2026-09-14; only explicitly published attributes are marked verified and omitted technical details remain unknown.

Editorial price note

Sony's US page lists a $299.99 preorder price. The September 30 release timing is supported by contemporaneous launch coverage and should be rechecked before purchase.

Specifications

18 tracked specs across 7 groups · 7 specifications have a field-level source citation.

Design

Type
Wireless noise-canceling over-ear headphones Source cited
Form Factor
Foldable closed-back over-ear design with carrying case Source cited
Weight
Approximately 253g Source cited

Audio

Driver Size
Not specified on the cited Sony US product page Needs confirmation
Noise Cancellation
Sony 1000X active noise cancellation Source cited
Transparency / Ambient
Not specified on the cited Sony US product page Needs confirmation
Sound Profile
Detailed tuning and frequency response are not specified on the cited Sony US product page Needs confirmation

Battery

Battery Life
Up to 27 hours Source cited
Battery With Case
Not applicable; the included carrying case is not described as a charging case Needs confirmation
Charging
Charging connector and full-charge time are not specified on the cited Sony US product page Needs confirmation
Quick Charge
Not specified on the cited Sony US product page Needs confirmation

Connectivity

Bluetooth Codecs
Not specified on the cited Sony US product page Needs confirmation
Bluetooth
Bluetooth version is not specified on the cited Sony US product page Needs confirmation
Multipoint
Multipoint connection supported Source cited

Durability

Water Resistance
No water-resistance rating is specified on the cited Sony US product page Needs confirmation

Calls

Microphone System
Microphone count and layout are not specified on the cited Sony US product page Needs confirmation

Usability

Controls
Detailed control layout is not specified on the cited Sony US product page Needs confirmation
App Support
Sony Sound Connect app Source cited