Google · Phones
Google Pixel 9
Google Pixel 9 combines a cited Tensor G4 chipset, 12GB of memory, and a 50MP main plus 48MP ultra-wide camera system in Google's standard-size flagship. AT&T's US specification table covers 18 of 24 listed fields; its reference price around $649 is most persuasive for buyers who want Pixel camera processing without paying for a Pro model.
Buying verdict
Pixel 9 is a sensible default for point-and-shoot photography, Google's Android experience, and 12GB memory. Compare Pixel 9 Pro or Galaxy S25 first if long-range zoom, peak gaming performance, or a broader storage range matters more.
Editorial score
8.7 / 10
High source confidence
Reference price
$649
Released
Aug 22, 2024
Reference price, not a live offer. Editorial data date Sep 9, 2026. Specs and availability can vary by configuration, region, and retailer. Status: available.
Source coverage: 1 cited reference covers 18 listed specifications. “Source cited” labels identify those fields; unbadged specifications remain editorial reference data pending field-level review.
These links open manufacturer or retailer pages so you can check live availability. Prices on this page are editorial references, not offers. Rankings and scores are not influenced by commercial relationships.
Should you buy it?
A practical ownership call
- Buy it if you want point-and-shoot photos and Android updates.
- Skip it if no dedicated telephoto camera for optical reach.
- Check current US street pricing before paying launch-level money.
Pros and cons
Pros
- Cited Tensor G4 chipset and 12GB memory support a current flagship Android workload
- 50MP main and 48MP ultra-wide cameras cover the two focal lengths most buyers use
- A reference price below the $799 launch level improves its position against Pro models
Cons
- No dedicated telephoto camera for optical reach
- Storage tops out at 256GB in the configurations listed here
- Carrier trade-in credits can make a more expensive rival cheaper only under specific plan and term conditions
Key specs
- Display
- 6.3-inch Actua OLED Source cited
- Panel Type
- Actua OLED Source cited
- Refresh Rate
- 120Hz Needs confirmation
- Resolution
- 2424 x 1080 OLED (422 ppi) Source cited
- Chipset
- Google Tensor G4 Source cited
- Memory
- 12GB Source cited
- Storage
- 128GB / 256GB Source cited
- Expandable Storage
- No microSD Needs confirmation
Buying scores
These are editorial estimates, not laboratory measurements. High source confidence; 75% of listed specification fields currently have field-level citations.
Camera
8.9
Battery
8.2
Display
8.8
Performance
8.2
Software Support
9.6
Value
8.5
Compare
Compare with similar products
Choose any phones alternative. Curated pairs open an editorial decision; every other pair opens a specs-only comparison.
Alternatives
Google Pixel 8 Pro
Google Pixel 8 Pro is best suited to Pixel Pro cameras and AI photo tools. Compare alternatives if this documented drawback would undermine that fit: Peak camera or battery performance still trails the category leaders.
Samsung
Samsung Galaxy S25
Galaxy S25 is the practical Samsung choice for buyers who want flagship performance and three rear focal lengths in a smaller body. Choose a larger Galaxy or another flagship if the 4000mAh battery, base storage tier, or 25W-class charging is the compromise you are least willing to make.
Featured in rankings
Best Phones for Most People
The best phones to buy for most people, ranked by camera quality, battery life, software support, display, and long-term value.
Best Android Phones
The best Android phones for cameras, battery life, compact design, gaming, premium displays, and long software support.
Best Budget Phones
Affordable phones that still deliver good cameras, battery life, update support, and value for North America buyers.
Best Camera Phones
The best phones for still photos, video, zoom, travel shooting, and reliable point-and-shoot camera quality.
Popular comparisons
Google Pixel 8 Pro vs Google Pixel 9: Which Should You Buy?
Compare Google Pixel 8 Pro and Google Pixel 9 by camera reliability, battery life, software support, carrier compatibility, display quality, and resale.
Google Pixel 9 vs Google Pixel 9a: Which Should You Buy?
Compare Google Pixel 9 and Google Pixel 9a by camera reliability, battery life, update support, carrier compatibility, display quality, and resale value,.
iPhone 16 vs Google Pixel 9: Which Should You Buy?
Compare iPhone 16 and Google Pixel 9 by camera reliability, battery life, update support, carrier compatibility, display quality, and resale value,.
Samsung Galaxy S25 vs Google Pixel 9: Which Should You Buy?
Compare Samsung Galaxy S25 and Google Pixel 9 by camera reliability, battery life, update support, carrier compatibility, display quality, and resale.
Related guides
Phone Carrier Compatibility Explained
Phone Carrier Compatibility Explained for North America shoppers, with practical links to products, rankings, comparisons, and category pages.
Phone Trade-In Upgrade Guide
Phone Trade-In Upgrade Guide for North America shoppers, with practical links to products, rankings, comparisons, and category pages.
How to Choose a Phone in 2026
A buyer-focused phone guide for choosing between iPhone, Android, budget phones, camera phones, and long-term upgrade value.
iPhone vs Android for Long-Term Value
Compare iPhone and Android value by software support, resale value, repair options, carrier promotions, and app ecosystem lock-in.
Availability, sources, and full notes
US availability
Google Pixel 9 is tracked as a US-market option through official brand channels and mainstream electronics retailers.
Common retailers
Google, Amazon, Best Buy, Walmart, Target
Sources and verification
- AT&T Google Pixel 9 specifications · AT&T · accessed Sep 9, 2026 · US Field-level coverage: Chipset, Memory, Storage, Main Camera, Weight, Resolution, Display, Battery, Wired Charging, Panel Type, Ultra Wide, Front Camera, Video Capture, Wireless Charging, Dimensions, Operating System, Connectivity, Biometrics
Editorial specification note
The cited AT&T US specification table verifies 18 listed fields as of 2026-09-09. Google-hosted pages were unreachable from the audit environment, so this carrier source is disclosed rather than presented as a Google-hosted citation. Refresh rate, expandable storage, telephoto-lens absence, materials, water resistance, and update duration remain unbadged.
Editorial price note
Google US launch and street-price patterns are tracked as editorial USD references, not live retailer checkout prices.
Specifications
24 tracked specs across 10 groups · 18 specifications have a field-level source citation.
Display
- Display
- 6.3-inch Actua OLED Source cited
- Panel Type
- Actua OLED Source cited
- Refresh Rate
- 120Hz Needs confirmation
- Resolution
- 2424 x 1080 OLED (422 ppi) Source cited
| Display | 6.3-inch Actua OLED Source cited |
|---|---|
| Panel Type | Actua OLED Source cited |
| Refresh Rate | 120Hz Needs confirmation |
| Resolution | 2424 x 1080 OLED (422 ppi) Source cited |
Performance
- Chipset
- Google Tensor G4 Source cited
- Memory
- 12GB Source cited
| Chipset | Google Tensor G4 Source cited |
|---|---|
| Memory | 12GB Source cited |
Storage
- Storage
- 128GB / 256GB Source cited
- Expandable Storage
- No microSD Needs confirmation
| Storage | 128GB / 256GB Source cited |
|---|---|
| Expandable Storage | No microSD Needs confirmation |
Camera
- Main Camera
- 50MP wide + 48MP ultra wide Source cited
- Ultra Wide
- 48MP ultra wide with autofocus, f/1.7, 123-degree field of view Source cited
- Telephoto / Zoom
- No dedicated telephoto Needs confirmation
- Front Camera
- 10.5MP Dual PD selfie camera, f/2.2, 95-degree field of view Source cited
- Video Capture
- 4K rear and front video recording up to 60 fps Source cited
| Main Camera | 50MP wide + 48MP ultra wide Source cited |
|---|---|
| Ultra Wide | 48MP ultra wide with autofocus, f/1.7, 123-degree field of view Source cited |
| Telephoto / Zoom | No dedicated telephoto Needs confirmation |
| Front Camera | 10.5MP Dual PD selfie camera, f/2.2, 95-degree field of view Source cited |
| Video Capture | 4K rear and front video recording up to 60 fps Source cited |
Battery
- Battery
- 4700mAh Source cited
- Wired Charging
- Fast charging capable; up to 50% in 30 minutes and 100% in 70 minutes under AT&T test conditions Source cited
- Wireless Charging
- Wireless charging capable; wattage not stated by AT&T Source cited
| Battery | 4700mAh Source cited |
|---|---|
| Wired Charging | Fast charging capable; up to 50% in 30 minutes and 100% in 70 minutes under AT&T test conditions Source cited |
| Wireless Charging | Wireless charging capable; wattage not stated by AT&T Source cited |
Design
- Weight
- 6.98 oz (198g) Source cited
- Dimensions
- 6.02 x 2.83 x 0.34 inches Source cited
- Build
- Glass/plastic premium or midrange build Needs confirmation
| Weight | 6.98 oz (198g) Source cited |
|---|---|
| Dimensions | 6.02 x 2.83 x 0.34 inches Source cited |
| Build | Glass/plastic premium or midrange build Needs confirmation |
Durability
- Water Resistance
- IP67/IP68 on many models Needs confirmation
| Water Resistance | IP67/IP68 on many models Needs confirmation |
|---|
Software
- Operating System
- Android 14 on the cited AT&T configuration Source cited
- Update Policy
- Leading multi-year Android support Needs confirmation
| Operating System | Android 14 on the cited AT&T configuration Source cited |
|---|---|
| Update Policy | Leading multi-year Android support Needs confirmation |
Connectivity
- Connectivity
- 5G, Wi-Fi 7, and NFC on the cited AT&T configuration Source cited
| Connectivity | 5G, Wi-Fi 7, and NFC on the cited AT&T configuration Source cited |
|---|
Security
- Biometrics
- Fingerprint sensor Source cited
| Biometrics | Fingerprint sensor Source cited |
|---|